Smart concepts for smart stores

The retail sector is caught between new customer expectations and technological pressures resulting from a newly emerging competitive dynamic. Without disruptive innovation, the decline is inevitable, according to experts. If you want to remain successful in retail for a long time to come, you have to bring along a multitude of qualities that we summarize in one term: smart stores.

dittelarchitekten smartness 01 1200x7502x 1
The big question for retailers: How to stage products and to let the shop concept shine. ©iStock.com/nzphotonz

By this we mean intelligent concepts for smart stores that follow a holistic formula for success. As an innovation agency, we help retailers make their visions a physical reality and create experiences. To do justice to this demanding role and establish promising smart stores for the future, it is also essential for us to know and understand the challenges facing the industry. Below you can read about the factors we believe are influencing retail, and the formulas we have identified for the sector’s continuing success.

Challenges facing Retailers

Customers are not so easily impressed anymore. »Been there, done that« has become an increasingly common response to retailers’ new ideas. Exceptional experiences with a sustained surprise effect are still sure to win customers over, but the probability is falling. Established values and genuine identification are what generate enthusiasm over the long term. Products need to truly impress saturated, demanding customers: through careful, curated selection and smart presentation.

Retailers who want to stay afloat in the future have to do a lot of things right. Distinctive brand identity has to be developed in order to build up a solid and sustainable customer base. The aim is not to anticipate trends, but to redefine them; to select the right employees and train them to ensure strong external representation and to offer excellent service. To bring together a community that draws customers into stores where they can encounter their peers and idols. By resolving to liberate themselves from old business models and refusing to be followers, retailers can take on an active role thanks to faster cycles. In our view, strong alliances are still an underestimated way to come out on top.

Megatrends influence Retail

No one knows what the future will bring. However, global megatrends are an important source when looking to predict future developments. Megatrends, a concept defined by futurologists, make it possible to gain a perspective on the years to come. Companies that are able to identify the global megatrends influencing their own business will be able to orient themselves within a highly dynamic market. We believe that the following megatrends will have a fundamental influence on the retail sector, and especially on brick-and-mortar business.

Sharing Economy. A sector like the retail sector that generates revenue through consumption and ownership is threatened by the sharing economy. This concept is governed by the assumption that people are buying and owning fewer material goods and prefer to use them for a limited period of time. Starting with cars or bicycles, shared use of resources also extends to clothing or furniture, products that are defined by rapid changes in trends. Retailers are already starting to offer product rental or exchanges as a way of reacting to the sharing economy.

Customization. It has been demonstrated that our society is characterized by the quest for self-actualization. This is expressed in part through the desire to actively play a role in designing our own surroundings. Whether for rooms, products or clothing, the degree of individualization is steadily on the rise. Meeting this need in clever ways will be a decisive factor in the success of future retail concepts.

Green Society & Fair Trade. We believe that consumer awareness of health, sustainability and social issues will be greater in the future than ever before. Retail has the opportunity to actively anchor these values in their brand identity and product lines. If companies are able to represent their target audience’s value system over the long term, they will establish a thorough, value-based connection with their customers instead of a short-term »experience« effect.

Digitalization. The invention of the internet, smartphones and other technologies set an unstoppable process in motion. Technological opportunities are constantly being developed and computers are now inventing new computers without the help of people. Digitalization is a linchpin for some of the other megatrends we have listed – without this, many things would not be possible. Thanks to digital solutions and platforms, for example, product sharing models (sharing economy) or individual product adjustments (customization) can be implemented extensively.

Online and Offline can go along

Speaking of digitalization – The springboard for the last wave of digitalization in retail was online retail. Since then, the online-offline dilemma and the endangerment of brick-and-mortar businesses has probably been the most debated topic in the sector. Now online retail is entering stores again with a stronger presence. It’s clear that the two sectors will continue to merge and benefit mutually from each other’s potential. Online retail offers maximum convenienceand facilitates a level of transparency and flexibility that in-store retail has yet to achieve. On the other hand, offline retail offers an experience, emotional connection, a carefully curated selection and personal contact. Retailers that combine both worlds are already heading in the right direction. Offline and online should learn to get along.

Smart Store – The formular for succesful stores

Symbiosis between online and offline retail, excellent service, a strong community and a curated selection have already been addressed as elements that are necessary for success. Combined with a sophisticated design concept, flexibility and the integration of digital technologies, Smart Stores are equipped for the future.

dittelarchitekten smartness 04 1200x7502x
An intelligent shop concept combines a variety of success factors. ©DITTEL ARCHITEKTEN GMBH

Digital technologies within stores are one of the success factors, in our view. It is crucial to seamlessly integrate these elements into the overall concept, allowing them to interact with the space and fit in with aesthetic demands. If all this is true, digital technologies can enrich the individualized experience of stores in a variety of ways. Read more on this in our next article, »Future shopping: personal, easy, social«.

Good design will continue to satisfy people’s deep need for a sense of aesthetics, comfort and atmosphere. It is eye-catching, emotional, surprising, positive, and creates an experience. If the experience is worth sharing on Instagram, these become instagrammable moments, which we see as an expression of the increasing connection between reality and the virtual world. Good design is functional and sustainable for the future. And since we know that changes are happening faster and faster, successful planning of store concepts needs to rely on flexible, expandable and modular solutions.

dittelarchitekten smartness 05 1200x7502x
The Pop Up Box interprets flexibility at its best: the convertible retail space offers retailers and exhibitors a customizable presentation area. ©DITTEL ARCHITEKTEN GMBH

Our products and services

Here we give you an overview of the digital products and services we offer.

Our projects

What could your smart space look like? Click through our previous projects and get inspired.

Would you like to work with us?

Contact us and tell us about you and your individual project in an initial free consultation.

Smart concepts for smart stores

Die Einzelhandels-Branche bewegt sich in einem Spannungsfeld zwischen neuen Kundenerwartungen und Technologiedruck, der sich aus einer neu aufgekommenen Wettbewerbsdynamik ergibt. Ohne disruptive Innovation ist der Untergang laut Experten vorprogrammiert. Wer im Retail noch für lange Zeit erfolgreich bleiben will, muss eine Vielzahl an Eigenschaft mitbringen, die wir in einem Begriff zusammenfassen: Smart Stores.

Smart Store
Die große Frage für Retailer: Wie rücke ich meine Produkte ins rechte Licht und bringe mein Store-Konzept zum strahlen? ©iStock.com/nzphotonz

Darunter verstehen wir intelligente Konzepte für smart Stores, die neben der Technologie eine ganze Formel des Erfolgs erfüllen. Als Innovationsagentur  setzen wir dort an, wo die Vision des Händlers in den Raum übertragen und erlebbar wird – und gestalten mit. Um dieser verantwortungsvollen Rolle gerecht zu werden und erfolgsversprechende Smart Stores für die Zukunft zu schaffen, ist es auch für uns essentiell, das Spannungsfeld der Branche zu kennen und zu verstehen. Im Folgenden lesen Sie, welche Einflussfaktoren aus unserer Sicht auf den Einzelhandel wirken und welche Erfolgsformel wir für seinen künftigen Erfolg definieren.

Retailer in der Challenge

Kunden lassen sich nicht mehr so leicht beeindrucken. »Been there, done that« werden Händler immer häufiger als Antwort auf neue Ideen hören. Außergewöhnliche Erlebnisse mit anhaltendem Überraschungseffekt werden mit Sicherheit noch überzeugen, allerdings mit sinkender Wahrscheinlichkeit. Langfristig sind es vor allem tiefgreifende Werte und wahre Identifikation, die nachhaltig begeistern. Die Produkte müssen den gesättigten und anspruchsvollen Kunden wirklich überzeugen: Durch ihre wohlüberlegte und kuratierte Auswahl und eine smarte Präsentation.

Retailer, die in der Welt von morgen bestehen wollen, müssen vieles richtig machen. Es gilt, eine unverkennbare Markenbindung zu entwickeln um eine starke und nachhaltige Kundenbasis zu etablieren. Trends nicht nur zu antizipieren, sondern neue zu definieren. Die richtigen Mitarbeiter auszuwählen und so auszubilden, dass sie eine starke Repräsentanz nach außen sicherstellen und exzellenten Service bieten. Eine Community zu vereinen, die den Kunden in den Laden lockt um Seinesgleichen und Vorbilder zu treffen. Steht der Entschluss sich vom alten Geschäftsmodell und aus der Rolle des Getriebenen zu befreien, kann sich der Händler durch schneller werdende Zyklen zum aktiven Gestalter etablieren. Um als Sieger hervorzugehen, sind starke Allianzen aus unserer Sicht eine noch unterschätzte Lösung.

Megatrends beeinflussen den Handel

Keiner weiß was die Zukunft bringt. Globale Megatrends sind jedoch eine bedeutende Quelle, um Prognosen für zukünftige Entwicklungen aufzustellen. Von Zukunftsforschern definiert, zeichnen Megatrends ein Bild, das mehrere Jahre vorausschauen lässt. Wer erkennt, welche globalen Megatrends einen Einfluss auf das eigene Unternehmen haben, findet Orientierung in noch so dynamischen Märkten. Wir glauben, dass die folgenden Megatrends einen richtungsweisenden Einfluss auf die Retail-Branche und insbesondere den stationären Handel haben werden.

Sharing Economy. Eine Branche wie der Handel, die mit Konsum und Besitz Umsätze erzielt, wird durch die Sharing Economy bedroht. Letztere geht davon aus, dass Menschen materielle Güter immer weniger kaufen und besitzen, sondern nur für begrenzte Zeit nutzen wollen. Angefangen bei PKWs oder Fahrrädern, erstreckt sich die geteilte Nutzung von Ressourcen auch auf Kleidung oder Einrichtungsgegenstände – also Dinge, die schnellen Trendwechseln ausgesetzt sind. Einzelhändler beginnen bereits, Produktvermietungen oder –Tausch anzubieten um auf die Sharing Economy zu reagieren.

Customization. Unsere Gesellschaft ist erwiesenermaßen geprägt von der Suche nach Selbstverwirklichung. Dies äußert sich mitunter im Wunsch, das eigene Umfeld aktiv mitzugestalten. Ob Räume, Produkte oder Kleidung – das Maß an Individualisierung nimmt stetig zu. Die smarte Erfüllung dieses Bedürfnisses wird den Erfolg künftiger Retail-Konzepte mitbestimmen.

Green Society & Fair Trade. Wir glauben, dass das Gesundheits-, Nachhaltigkeits- und Sozialbewusstsein der Menschen in Zukunft größer sein wird, denn je. Der Retail hat die Chance, diese Werte aktiv in seiner Markenbildung und im Produktangebot zu verankern. Gelingt die Repräsentation des Wertgefüges seiner Zielgruppe langfristig, erzielt der Unternehmer anstatt eines kurzfristigen »Experience«-Effektes eine tiefgreifende, wertgebundene Verbundenheit mit seinen Kunden.

Digitalisierung. Die Erfindung von Internet, Smartphone und weiteren Technologien hat einen unaufhaltbaren Stein ins Rollen gebracht. Technologische Möglichkeiten entwickeln sich stetig weiter und Computer erfinden inzwischen ohne das Zutun von Menschen neue Computer. Für einige der genannten Megatrends ist die Digitalisierung ein Weichensteller – sie macht vieles erst möglich. Mithilfe digitaler Lösungen und Plattformen lassen sich beispielweise Product Sharing-Modelle (Sharing Economy) oder individuelle Produktanpassungen (Customization) flächendeckend in die Realität umsetzen.

Offline und Online können Freunde sein

Apropos Digitalisierung – Der Startschuss für die letzte Digitalisierungswelle im Retail war der Online-Handel. Seitdem ist die Online-Offline-Thematik und die Bedrohung des stationären Handels das wohl meist diskutierte Thema der Branche. Nun drängt der Online-Handel wieder verstärkt in die Läden. Klar ist: Beide Bereiche werden weiter miteinander verschmelzen und sollten die Potenziale des anderen nutzen. Der Online-Handel bietet maximale Convenience und ermöglicht Transparenz und Flexibilität, die der stationäre Handel (noch) sucht. Der Offline-Handel hingegen schafft Erlebnis, Emotion, bietet ein sorgfältig ausgewähltes Angebot und persönlichen Kontakt. Händler, die beide Welten verbinden, machen schon vieles richtig. Offline und Online sollten Freunde sein.

Smart Store – die Erfolgsformel für den Laden

Die Online-Offline-Symbiose, exzellenter Service, eine starke Community und ein kuratiertes Angebot wurden bereits als Teil der Erfolgsformel angesprochen. In der Kombination mit einem anspruchsvollen Designkonzept, Flexibilität sowie der Integration digitaler Technologien ist der Smart Store  für die Zukunft gerüstet.

Smart Store
Das intelligente Shop-Konzept vereint eine Vielzahl an Eigenschaften. ©DITTEL ARCHITEKTEN GMBH

Digitale Technologien im Raum sind für uns ein Bestandteil der Erfolgsformel. Entscheidend ist, dass sie nahtlos in das Gesamtkonzept integriert werden, mit dem Raum interagieren und sich dem ästhetischen Anspruch unterordnen.  Dann können digitale Technologien den Store hinsichtlich Individualisierung und Erlebnis vielseitig bereichern. Mehr dazu im nächsten Artikel zum Thema  »Future shopping – personal, easy, social«.

Gutes Design wird auch zukünftig das starke Bedürfnis nach Ästhetik, Wohlgefühl und Atmosphäre des Menschen befriedigen und entsprechend immer gefragt sein. Es beinhaltet Eyecatcher, emotionalisiert, überrascht, wirkt positiv und erzeugt Erlebnisse. Wenn diese es wert sind, auf Instagram geteilt zu werden, entstehen Instagrammable Moments, die für uns Ausdruck der zunehmenden Verbindung von realer und virtueller Welt sind. Gutes Design ist funktional und zukunftssicher. Und weil wir wissen, dass sich alles immer rascher wandelt, sind Flexibilität, Erweiterbarkeit und Modularität DIE Erfolgsfaktoren in der Planung von Store-Konzepten.

Smart Store
Die Pop Up Box steht als wandelbares Raum-In-Raum-Konzept für temporären Verkauf und Ausstellung sinnbildlich für Flexibilität und Modularität. ©DITTEL ARCHITEKTEN GMBH

Unsere Produkte und Services

Hier geben wir euch einen Überblick, welche digitalen Produkte und Services wir konkret anbieten.

Unsere Projekte

Wie könnte euer Smart Space aussehen? Klickt euch durch unsere bisherigen Projekte und lasst euch inspirieren.

Ihr möchtet mit uns arbeiten?

Kontaktiert uns und erzählt in einem ersten kostenfreien Beratungsgespräch von euch und eurem individuellen Vorhaben.